The Samuel Smith House is an outstanding example of a simple colonial-era farmhouse in East Lyme, Connecticut. It is unique in that it has been lovingly maintained and restored with accuracy to its beginning in 1685, with two additions constructed in 1735 and 1812. The goal of The Friends of the Samuel Smith House is to preserve and restore the property as a living museum of 17th century Connecticut farm life.
Stephen and Carol Huber, who owned the house since the 1970's, provided the initial research on this unique intact colonial farm. The home, known earlier as "The Hurlburt House", was identified and registered as a National Historic Landmark in 1979.
The property is owned by the Town of East Lyme. Funding was provided by the town and the Historic Preservation Division of the Connecticut Commission on Culture and Tourism. Cooperating organizations include the New England Group for Historic Preservation, the East Lyme Historic Properties Commission, the East Lyme Commission for the Preservation of Natural Resources, Historic New England, the East Lyme Historical Society, and the Niantic Sportsman's Club.
Please support this project through the Friends of the Samuel Smith House, a registered 501(c)(3) charitable organization.